About Us

The Inter-University Centre for Education Law, Leadership and Policy (CELP) is a self-sustaining public benefit organisation functioning as a juristic person. CELP was formed in February 1997 with the aim of contributing to the transformation of society in South Africa through the scientific and academic study of education law and educational issues and through the dissemination of such information to all relevant role-payers. The Universities of Pretoria (UP) and South Africa (UNISA) were the founding members of CELP. Since 1997 the following universities have become CELP members:
  • University of Johannesburg
  • North-West University
  • University of the Free State
  • University of Fort Hare
  • University of Stellenbosch
All the stakeholder members are represented on the Board and the Executive Committee of CELP. CELP has access to specialists with vast practical and research experience in the fields of education law and education management. CELP and its partner members pride themselves on their track record and rendering service of the highest quality through the synergistic efforts of the team to make a real and lasting difference in education in South Africa.

Our Member Universities